History of the Diocese

Patroness of the Diocese: Our Lady Of The Family Rosary of Fatima

The Diocese Of Belgaum was erected on September 19, 1963 by the Papel Bull ‘Summa illa Sollicitudo’ of Pope Pius XII, Two civil districts of Belgaum and North Karnataka were separated from the Archdiocese of Goa and two other Civil Districts of Dharwad and Bijapur were taken from the Diocese of Pune in forming the Diocese of Belgaum.

The Most Rev.Dr. Michael Rodrigues was appointed the first Bishop.By Papal Bull 'Christi Missum’ of Pope Paul VI the North Karnataka District was separated from the Belgaum Diocese to form the Diocese of Karwar on January 24, 1976.

Belgaum Diocese now consists of the civil districts of Belgaum, Bagalkot, Dharwad, Gadag and Haveri in Karnataka State and the Changad Taluk in Kolhapur District of Maharashtra State.

Area (sq. kms)
Total No. of Diocesan Priests
Total No. of Congregations (Men)
Total No. of Congregations (Women)
Total No. of Religious Priests
Total No. of Religious Brothers
Total No. of Religious Sisters
Total No. of Communities

BC 69, Camp, Belgavi - 590001