Spiritual Gallery       | Diocese Map & Events |     Parishes Of The Diocese
The Diocese Of Belgaum was erected on September 19, 1963 by the Papel Bull ‘Summa illa
Sollicitudo’ of Pope Pius XII, Two civil districts of Belgaum and North Karnataka were separated
from the Archdiocese of Goa and two other Civil Districts of Dharwad and Bijapur were taken
from the Diocese of Pune in forming the Diocese of Belgaum.

The Most Rev.Dr. Michael Rodrigues was appointed the first Bishop.By Papal Bull 'Christi
Missum’ of Pope Paul VI the North Karnataka District was separated from the Belgaum Diocese
to form the Diocese of Karwar on January 24, 1976.

Belgaum Diocese now consists of the civil districts of Belgaum, Bagalkot, Dharwad, Gadag and
Haveri in Karnataka State and the Changad Taluk in Kolhapur District of Maharashtra State.

Patroness of the Diocese: Our Lady Of The Family Rosary of Fatima
Area    :    44,216 Sq. Km
Total population :
Langauges: Kannada, Konkani, English
Present Status
The Diocese Of Belgaum
Total No. of Diocesan Priests      -  79
Religious Men and Women in the Diocese
Total No. of Congregations -   12 Men & 35 Women
Total No. of Communities -   40 Men & 70 Women
Total No. of Religious Priests -   85
Total No. of Religious Brothers -   12
Total No. of Religious Sisters -   425
Address Details
Contact Details
Site Map
Follow Us:

OFFICE : 0831-2420587
FAX :        0831-2424226
Email: belgaumdiocese@gmail.com
Email: belgaumdiocese@rediffmail.com
Contact us

More Gallery
Contact Us
g1 g2 g3 g4 g5 g6 g7 g9
© 2015 Commission For Social Communication Diocese Of Belgaum. All Rights Reserved
Website Designed By Adroit Info
Bishop's House,
B.C . 69, Camp,
Karnataka, India.
B.C . 69, Camp, Belgaum-01, Karnataka, India.
Free Web Counter
Total Vistors: